Support Us Button Widget

These are the honorees for the PAM CUT 2024 Cinema Unbound Awards

The awards ceremony will be held in June at the Portland Art Museum.

A collage of four portrait photographs.

Cinema Unbound Awards honorees, clockwise from left: Mickalene Thomas, Sterlin Harjo, Irene Taylor, and Peter Cho and Sun Young Park.

Photos courtesy of PAM CUT

The Portland Art Museum’s PAM Cut has named two chefs, two filmmakers, and one artist with ties to Portland as the fifth-annual Cinema Unbound Awards honorees.

The awards honor “bold, cinematic creators who use their vision to challenge for whom, by whom, and how stories can be told” through various forms, including film, TV, animation, audio, gaming, immersive arts, and more. These are the honorees:

  • Mickalene Thomas | Multidisciplinary artist known for her elaborate portraits of Black women
  • Sterlin Harjo | Co-creator and showrunner of “Reservation Dogs”
  • Irene Taylor | Portland documentarian whose latest work, “I AM: Celine Dion,” will start streaming next month on Prime Video
  • Peter Cho and Sun Young Park | James Beard Award–nominated chef/entrepreneurs behind Han Oak, Toki, and Jeju

Comedian, actor, writer, and philanthropist Ron Funches (“Loot,” “Curb Your Enthusiasm”) will host the Cinema Unbound Awards ceremony on Friday, June 21 at the Portland Art Museum. Tickets include a cocktail reception and dinner.

More from PDXtoday